Teresa Morrison (Ed Thomas’ sister) Victim Statement notes:

I chose to read this statement because it seemed like the one I would be most likely to relate to. I don’t have a husband or children, so the wife or parent’s statements, while I could sympathize with them, I would lack the life experience to properly empathize.

My brother and I are very close. He lives far away and we don’t get to see each other more than once or twice a year anymore. Our busy lives have caused us to have long, sustained conversations over the phone less and less. I have thought in the past about how I would feel or react if anything bad ever happened to him. He lives in a much larger city than I do with naturally higher crime rates. I know he is more than capable of taking care of himself, but that doesn’t stop me from thinking something could happen.

Having looked up to my brother my entire life, I can only imagine that if he were to suddenly leave this world I would feel lost. I would have no intellectual or moral compass without him. I’ve tried to form my own complete independent person, but in the back of my mind I’ve wanted to be my brother for years.

Teresa Morrison’s statement about Ed Thomas strikes me in a real, tangible way. She speaks about wishing they were closer and laments the people who will never get enjoy or experience his presence. This is how I would speak about my brother. Not only as a personal loss, but as a loss for the world.

 

Neil Gorsuch senate hearing – March 20th

“He followed the law wherever it took him, without fear or favor to anyone.”
“A case isn’t just a number or a name, but a life story, and a human being, deserving of as much dignity and respect as my own.”
“I doubt most people know that Justices Thomas and Sotomayor agree more than 60% of the time, and Justices Scalia and Brayers, agreed even more than that.”

